May 11, 2016

REVIEW: The Make Me Serial

The Make Me Serial, by Beth Kery
Publish Dates:
April 5, 12, 19, 26, May 3, 10, 17, 24, 2016
Publisher: Intermix
Format: e-ARC, provided by the publisher
Genre: adult contemporary romance
To Buy Book 1: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Rating: 4 STARS

(Synopsis) Harper McFaddan has made her name as an investigative journalist by being both compassionate and fearless. After tragedy strikes her family, she moves to the shores of Lake Tahoe to find some peace. But when mysterious software mogul Jacob Latimer comes into her life, her thoughts turn from her own healing to an urgent need to get closer to him... 

Jacob Latimer is the definition of a self-made man. The software entrepreneur built his corporation from nothing, but rumors abound about the shadiness of his rise to power and no one knows what secrets lurk in his past. Harper is the last person he should let into his life. As an investigative journalist, she’s the one person who could expose his hidden origins. But Jacob knows things about Harper’s past that make him irresistibly drawn to her. He wants nothing more than to make her his—and Jacob is a man who always gets what he wants...

The Make Me serial by Beth Kery is published in eight parts:

Make Me Forget (released April 5, 2016)
Make Me Tremble (released April 12, 2016)
Make Me Say It (released April 19, 2016)
Make Me Desperate (released April 26, 2016)
Make Me Risk It (released May 3, 2016)
Make Me Feel (released May 10, 2016)
Make Me Remember (releases May 17, 2016)
Make Me Forever (releases May 24, 2016)

Thanks to my friends at Berkley Romance, of which Intermix is a digital imprint, I was able to read all eight parts of this serial novel at once. And thank goodness for that, too. Because I suck at patience. As of yesterday, six of the eight parts have now been released, so it's the perfect time to get all caught up on Harper and Jacob's story before the final installment is available on May 24.

Their story opens with Harper Mcfadden moving to a small town on the shores of Lake Tahoe in an effort to escape both the hustle and bustle of San Francisco, as well as the memories of her parents, who were recently killed in an accident. She takes a job as the news editor of the local rag, which is a far cry from her previous job as an investigative reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle. Not long after getting settled in, she's invited to a party at the home of filthy rich, but incredibly private, Jacob Latimer. The events of that night set into motion a hot and emotional affair that has far reaching consequences for both of them.

I love secrets. I mean, I'm all for open communication in relationships, but sometimes a good secret on the part of one or both parties just makes for a really good read. Unlike in some books, though, the reader is cued in to what the big secret is and why it isn't being revealed very early on in the series of books, so the real question becomes, what will happen once everyone realizes the whole picture.

The story is told from both Harper's and Jacob's POVs, which was really helpful since Jacob is very elusive and private. He has a lot going on in his head, and his thoughts, together with Harper's make a much clearer picture of what's going on. 

The story is split between the events of now and the events of Harper's and Jacob's childhood. This was a good thing, because there were times when the story in the present started to drag a bit. Harper and Jacob would have hot sex, then Jacob would shut down and Harper would get mad. Jacob would apologize and on and on it went. The flashbacks were fascinating, though, and really kept things moving. 

The Make Me series was a really good read. I loved learning about Harper's and Jacob's shared past. I loved speculating about how it was going to affect their present. And, I loved experiencing Jacob's and Harper's reawakening. 

No comments: